Slide Option 1

Opportunity Lives Here

Canada Immigration Attorney

The Northwest Territories are one of three territories in Canada and they too have nominee programs that allow the territories to nominate applicants just like the provinces do. Once nominated by Northwest Territories, applicants may then apply to the federal government for their permanent resident status.  Applicants who are nominated by a province or territories will have their permanent residency application processed more quickly than those applicants who are apply through other programs. Contact a Canada immigration lawyer from our law firm to discuss your options.

There are four categories that applicants can apply to under the Northwest Territories Nominee Program (NTNP):

  1. Entrepreneur
  2. Self-Employed
  3. Skilled Worker
  4. Critical Impact Worker

Entrepreneur Category

Applicants under the Entrepreneur Category must meet the following criteria in order to be eligible under the NTNP:

  • Applicants must have financial ability to invest in and start a new business in the Northwest Territories, or purchase an existing business in Northwest Territories.
  • Applicants must have an active role in the business and not simply as an investor.
  • The applicant must implement a business plan that provides a benefit to the Northwest Territories.


In order to qualify for the Self-Employed category, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Applicants must be able to financially support themselves and family while establishing their business;
  • Applicants must be a professional with a business outlet or professional practice;
  • Applicants must implement a business plan that provides a service that is in demand, in the Northwest Territories (a labour market survey will determine whether a service/business is in demand).

Skilled Worker Category

Employers must apply through this category and submit all necessary documentation themselves on behalf of the foreign national they wish to hire. The employer must be a registered business that has been operational for at least one year and be in good standing with provincial regulatory bodies. Employers must provide proof of local recruitment efforts and that there is indeed a demand for this type of worker in NWT (by way of Labour Market Opinion or otherwise).

The job being offered by the employer must be in an occupation that falls into NOC skill levels 0, A, or B which are managerial, professional, skill trades and technical kinds of jobs. The offer of employment must be a permanent full-time job offer that provides a comparable industry rate of pay. The foreign national nominee must have the necessary credentials or licensing required to perform the job being offered and they must be able to communicate in either English or French, depending on the language they will need for their job. Nominees must also have the required work experience for the specific occupation they are being offered in NWT.

Critical Impact Category

This category is for semi-skilled workers (NOC skill levels C & D) in the hospitality and service industry.  This category is designed help NWT employers recruit foreign labour to address labour shortages in the Territory. It allows employers to recruit semi skilled worker (NOC skill levels C & D) that are not eligible under other programs. In order to apply, nominee applicants must have already been working in NWT for at least six months on a Canadian temporary work permit.

Applicants must have a full-time employment offer and employers are required to provide a comparable industry rate of pay. Applicants must have the required experience to perform the job being offered and provide proof that they will have the financial means to support themselves (or sufficient settlement support). Applicants in this category must also write a language test administered by a recognized agency. The employment offer must not contravene any existing agreements or laws that the employers are bound to.